Saturday, May 31, 2014

Jayalalithaa - Modi meet may go beyond TN issues

The BJP’s attempts to reach out to non-NDA parties to get them to back the government in the Rajya Sabha for passage of crucial Bills in the coming months got a big boost when AIADMK supremo and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalalithaa deciding to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi in New Delhi on June 3.
The decision comes barely four days after she skipped the swearing-in of Mr. Modi as Prime Minister citing the presence of Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa at the event.
While an official statement in Chennai made it clear that Ms. Jayalalithaa’s visit was to take “very crucial issues relating to Tamil Nadu” to the Prime Minister’s attention through a memorandum, BJP sources were upbeat about the possibilities of a larger cooperation with the AIADMK.
          A BJP leader said that, Mr. Modi would certainly discuss the political situation post-elections with Ms. Jayalalithaa, given her high stature. The issue of cooperation in the Rajya Sabha where the NDA is way short of majority will likely be on the agenda.

Top Union Ministers in touch with Jayalalithaa:
Party Sources of AIADMK and BJP in Chennai said that, senior BJP leaders and Ministers in the Union Cabinet like Arun Jaitley and Ravishankar Prasad have been in touch with Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalalithaa in recent days.
When Ms. Jayalalithaa visits the capital next week to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi, she will have further discussion with these leaders. With only 64 of the 240 members in the Rajya Sabha (there are five vacancies), the BJP-led NDA government is short of a simple majority in the Upper House that is essential for passing of Bills. With the odds in the RS to remain stacked against the NDA in the foreseeable future, the government is looking for partnerships with regional parties though it has a clear a majority in the Lower House.
Prakash Javadekar, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs, who took charge recently, expressed the hope that all parties would cooperate in the Rajya Sabha.
          Interestingly, BJP has some problem in getting the support of Trinamool Congress but it is quite confident of getting the support of AIADMK, BJD and some other parties including JD(U) in the Rajya Sabha.

Tamil Nadu - Power (Electricity) Snapshot

India Power Status

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

What the new Union Ministers says

“The challenges are obvious… We have to restore pace of growth, contain inflation and concentrate on fiscal consolidation”

-- Mr. Arun Jaitely, Union Finance Minister

“The way things happened in the past have dented investor confidence. 100% FDI in telecom must be quickened”
-- Mr. Ravi Shankar Prasad, Union Telecom Minister

“For me, it is not a position of authority but a position of service”
-- Ms. Smriti Irani, Union HRD Minister

“To make democracy a success, we require press freedom because it gives people the choice in a rainbow of differing opinions”
-- Mr. Prakash Javadekar, Union Information & Broadcasting Minister

“Muslims are not minorities. Parsis are. We have to see how we can help them so that their numbers don’t diminish”
-- Ms. Najma Heptullah, Union Minority Affairs minister

“I’ll consult domestic and international experts on ways to improve the country’s health system. My administration will be 100 percent transparent. Health is more important than wealth”

--- Mr. Harsh Vardhan, Union Health Minister

“Defence is an important ministry and needs urgent decisions. The security of India is of vital importance. Support to our armed forces and equipment support is priority area”
-- Mr. Arun Jaitley, Union Defence Minister

NaMo Cabinet - Comparison with UPA

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Modi and his team - Union Council of Ministers

Shri. Narendra Modi
Prime Minister and also in-charge of the Ministers / Departments not specifically allocated to the charge of any Minister
Shri. Raj Nath Singh
Minister of Home Affairs
Smt. Sushma Swaraj
Minister of External Affairs
Minister of Overseas Indian Affairs
Shri. Arun Jaitley
Minister of Finance
Minister of Corporate Affairs
Minister of Defence
Shri. M. Venkaiah Naidu
Minister of Urban Development
Minister of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation
Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
Shri. Nitin Jairam Gadkari
Minister of Road Transport and Highways
Minister of Shipping
Shri. D. V. Sadananda Gowda
Minister of Railways
Sushri Uma Bharati
Minister of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation
Dr. Najma Heptulla
Minister of Minority Affairs
Shri. Gopinathrao Munde
Minister of Rural Development
Minister of Panchayti Raj
Minister of Drinking Water & Sanitation
Shri. Ramvilas Paswan
Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
Shri. Kalraj Mishra
Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
Smt. Maneka Sanjay Gandhi
Minister of Women and Child Development
Shri. Annathkumar
Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers
Shri. Ravi Shankar Prasad
Minister of Communications and Information Technology
Minister of Law and Justice
Shri. Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati
Minister of Civil Aviation
Shri. Anant Geete
Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises
Smt. Harsimrat Kaur Badal
Minister of Food Processing Industries
Shri.Narendra Singh Tomar
Minister of Mines
Minister of Steel
Minister of Labour and Employment
Shri. Jual Oram
Minister of Tribal Affairs
Shri. Radha Mohan Singh
Minister of Agriculture
Shri. Thaawar Chand Gehlot
Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment
Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani
Minister of Human Resource Development
Dr. Harsh Vardhan
Minister of Health and Family Welfare
General V. K. Singh
Minister of Development of North Eastern Region
MoS in the Ministry of External Affairs
MoS in the Ministryof Overseas Affairs
Shri. Inderjit Singh Rao
Minister of Planning
Minister of Statistics and Programme Implementation
MoS in the Ministry of Defence
Shri. Santosh Kumar Gangwar
MoS in the Ministry of Textiles
MoS in Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs
MoS in the Ministry of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation
Shri. Shripad Yesso Naik
MoS in the Ministry of Culture
MoS in the Ministry of Toruism
Shri. Dharmendra Pradhan
MoS in the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas
Shri. Sarbananda Sonowal
MoS in the Ministry of Skill Development, Entrepreneurship, Youth Affairs and Sports
Shri. Prakash Javadekar
MoS in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting
MoS in the Ministryof Environemnt, Forest and Cliamte Change
MoS in the Ministryof ParliamentaryAffairs
Shri. Piyush Goyal
MoS in the Ministry of Power
MoS in the Ministry of Coal
MoS in the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
Dr. Jitendra Singh
MoS in the Ministry of Science and Technology
MoS in the Ministry of Earth Sciences
MoS in the PMO
MoS in the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions
MoS in the Department of Atomic Energy
MoS in the Department of Space
Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman
MoS in the Ministry of Commerce and Industry
MoS in the Ministry of Finance; and
Ministry of Corporate Affairs
Shri. G. M. Siddeshwara
Ministry of Civil Aviation
Shri. Manoj Sinha
Ministry of Railways
Shri. Nihalchand
Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
Shri. Upendra Kushwaha
Ministry of Rural Development
Ministry of Panchayati Raj
Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation
Shri. P. Radhakrishnan
Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises
Shri Kiren Rijiju
Ministry of Home Affairs
Shri. Krishan Pal
Ministry of Road Transport and Highways
Ministry of Shipping
Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan
Ministry of Agriculture
Ministry of Food Processing Industries
Shri. Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava
Ministry of Tribal Affairs
Shri. Raosaheb Dadarao Danve
Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
Shri. Vishnu Deo Sai
Ministry of Mines
Ministry of Steel
Ministry of Labour and Employment
Shri. Sudarshan Bhagat
Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment